Muse announced the release of their ninth studio album, Will of the People, arriving on August 26 via Warner Records. In a press release, the band said “there is no bowing to any singular genre.” That said, their new single “Compliance” is a synth-ed-up glam-rock anthem that fans of the band will undoubtedly enjoy. The album is available for pre-order here.

[embedded content][embedded content]

The upbeat, alt-pop elements of “Compliance” contrast with the lyrics, which detail living in an oppressive society. “Will Of The People was created in Los Angeles and London and is influenced by the increasing uncertainty and instability in the world,” Muse singer Matt Bellamy said in a statement. “A pandemic, new wars in Europe, massive protests & riots, an attempted insurrection, Western democracy wavering, rising authoritarianism, wildfires, and natural disasters and the destabilization of the global order.”

Bellamy says of the single: “‘Compliance’ is about submission to authoritarian rules and reassuring untruths to be accepted to an in-group. Gangs, governments, demagogues, social media algorithms & religions seduce us during times of vulnerability, creating arbitrary rules and distorted ideas for us to comply with.”

Muse Will of the People tracklist:

Will of the People
Won’t Stand Down
Ghosts (How Can I Move On)
You Make Me Feel Like It’s Halloween
Kill Or Be Killed
We Are Fucking Fucked

Tags: ,

Leave a comment