Pearl Jam frontman Eddie Vedder has confirmed the tracklist for his upcoming solo album, Earthling, due February 11 via Seattle Surf/Republic. The third single from the 13-song project, “Brother the Cloud,” is due out Friday (January 14), the same day “Earthling” will be available for digital pre-order, and follows the earlier release of the singles “Long Way” and “The Haves.”

A short snippet of “Brother the Cloud” can now be heard on Vedder’s YouTube channel. The intensely personal track will no doubt invite speculation as to its subject, as Vedder sings, “I had a brother but now my brother is gone / I search the sky for a glimpse of his blue eyes.” The chorus finds him at the top of his vocal register as he pleads, “If I could wish / wish it away / I would bleed out my knees and pray / these are but dreams / as sad as it seems.”

Earthling was produced by Andrew Watt, who also played guitar and bass on the new material recorded last year at his Beverly Hills studio. In addition, Watt is a member of Vedder’s new solo band the Earthlings, who will hit the road for a short U.S. tour beginning February 3 at New York’s Beacon Theatre. Live, the group will be rounded out by multi-instrumentalists Josh Klinghoffer and Glen Hansard, bassist Chris Chaney and Red Hot Chili Peppers drummer Chad Smith. Hansard will open each show with his own solo set.

Pearl Jam is also returning to the road in 2022; a European tour is scheduled to begin June 18 at the Pink Pop festival in the Netherlands, but no dates have yet been announced for a planned North American run in May that was postponed in spring 2020 due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Eddie Vedder Earthling Track List:

“Long Way”
“Power of Right”
“Brother the Cloud”
“Fallout Today”
“The Dark”
“The Haves”
“Good and Evil”
“Rose of Jericho”
“Mrs. Mills”
“On My Way”

Leave a comment